Ann McGilvrey Award

This award honors a District 5 player, or in some cases a pair, who epitomize(s) ethical behavior and good sportsmanship at the bridge table.

On December 8, 1973 the District 5 bridge community suffered the loss of Ann Lytle McGilvrey, Ralph Vichill and Lee Caito in a tragic boating accident. In honor of Ann's memory, and her reputation as one who exemplified the highest standards of sportsmanship and ethical behavior at the bridge table, the Board of Directors of District 5 instituted the Ann McGilvrey Award.

The Award is presented periodically to a player or partnership who reflects Ann's positive qualities. These recipients are not chosen on the basis of service or bridge ability. Only past winners are invited to participate in the selection process. Typically the selection committee looks for someone who has established a district-wide reputation for active ethics and good manners


Submit nominations to Marc Sylvester, the current the Vice-President of District 5, by email to In each year, nominations must be submitted by May 1 to be considered in that year. After submission, nominees will be considered for up to 3 consecutive election cycles.
Ann McGilvrey Award Winners
Year Honored Name City/State
2020Jane MarshallPittsburgh
Bernie Greenspan
Beachwood OH
Brian Ellis
Beachwood OH
Hope Ellis
Beachwood OH
2017Cathy MarstellerNiles OH
2016Barbara Bergman 
Gladys Martin
Hudson OH
Sharon Robertson
Beachwood OH
Barb Grzegorzewski
Meadville PA
Ron Franck
Pittsburgh PA
Lynn Rafferty
Columbiana OH
2010Pat Smith 
Susan Stark
Pepper Pike OH
Bernie Fudor
Murrysville PA
2007Peter Grover 
Ernie Retetagos
Pittsburgh PA
2005*Jim Reeve 
2004Pat RasmusHamburg NY
2003Sandra Fleischman 
2002Alice Williams 
Jim Zimmerman
Shaker Heights OH
Mary Paulone Carns
Trafford PA
2000 Howard Lebow 
1999Roni Gitchel 
1999 Tom Wolstoncroft 
1998Alice Lind 
Jan Assini
Pittsburgh PA
1997 Nomi Connell 
Sharon Fairchild
Rocky River OH
Dick Early
Cuyahoga Falls OH
1994Joe Dragoun 
1993Marvin Melamed 
1992Judi Sonon 
1991Arthur Goldsmith 
1990John Toy 
1988Richard Fleischman 
1986Elmer Schwartz 
Gail Carns
Trafford PA
1975Grace Moore 
1974William Babb 
Year UncertainYik Young 
Year Uncertain Jim Mathis 
Year UncertainJoyce Wade 
Year UncertainWoody Van Court 
Year UncertainFred Sorensen 
Year UncertainKeyla Lawton 
Year UncertainJulia Halloran 
Year UncertainHarry Ganelin 
Year UncertainRobert Freedman 
Year UncertainIrene & Jeff Darrow 
Year UncertainKay & Richard Barbaris